Bio-Fluid Mechanics

The research in the laboratory for bio-medical fluid mechanics focuses on flows in artificial organs and implants like artificial heart valve prostheses, blood pumps, microfluidic filter systems, etc. and on flows in biological/human systems such as the circulatory blood system and the human airways.

mehr...

Computational Fluid Dynamics

To simulate numerically internal and external flows the conservation equations of mass, momentum, and energy are solved using up-to-date algorithms implemented on high performance computers. The development of such algorithms has been the subject of various research projects at the Institute of Aerodynamics.

mehr...

Experimental Fluid Mechanics

Several wind tunnels covering subsonic, transonic and supersonic flows with test section dimensions ranging from 0.15 x 0.15 m² up to 1 x 1 m² and two water tunnels, one of which is a closed circuit water tunnel with a test section of 1 x 1.5 m² at a maximum velocity of 4 m/s, are available. Moreover, a test rig for certification of safety valves at a maximum pressure of 100 bar is set up.

mehr...

Bio-Fluid-Mechanik

blubb

Die Forschung im Labor für Bio-Fluid Mechanik konzentriert sich auf die Untersuchung von Strömungen in künstlichen Organen und Implantaten wie künstliche Herzklappenprothesen, Blutpumpen, Mikrofluid-Filtersystemen etc. und Strömungen in Humansystemen wie dem Kreislauf und in den Atemwegen, z.B. Nase oder Lunge.

mehr...

Numerik

Zur Simulation interner und externer Strömungen werden die Erhaltungsgleichungen für Masse, Impuls und Energie auf Hochleistungsrechnern gelöst. Die Entwicklung der Algorithmen war Gegenstand verschiedener Forschungsprojekte am Aerodynamischen Institut.

mehr...

Experimentelle Strömungsmechanik

Am Aerodynamischen Institut existieren mehrere Windkanäle für Unter-, Trans- und Überschallströmungen mit Teststrecken von 0.15 x 0.15 m² bis zu 1 x 1 m² und zwei Wasserkanäle, von denen einer einen geschlossenen Wasserkreislaufkanal mit einem Testbereich von 1 x 1.5 m² und eine maximalen Geschwindigkeit von 4 m/s besitzt. Des weiteren ist u.a. ein Prüfstand zur Zertifizierung von Sicherheitsventilen mit einem maximalen Druck von 100 bar vorhanden.

mehr...